Facebook used to be a great way to catch up on sleep, or at the very least stay up-to-date on all of your news. But what happened to snoozing for 30 days? Something happened along the way that caused Facebook to change its algorithm – or at least that’s what some users are claiming. Either way, it seems as though you can’t just go to Facebook and expect to get a good night’s sleep. You may end up wasting more time than you expected if you rely on Facebook for shut-eye. That said, there are other ways to stay updated on current events and connect with friends. So whether or not Facebook is helping you get a good night’s sleep, remains an important part of our social media landscape.
What this means for you
Snoozing for days on Facebook is a thing of the past. Starting Monday, March 19, 2019, your posts will only be seen for three days after they are published. This change was made to make sure that all users have equal opportunities to be seen.
The Effects of Snooze on Facebook
Snooze for days on Facebook?
If you’re anything like most people, you might have found yourself snoozing your notifications on Facebook quite a bit over the years. The social media site used to offer a feature called “Snooze” which allowed you to delay notifications for up to seven days. However, as of September 2017, Snooze has been discontinued and all notifications are now immediately sent to users’ newsfeeds.
Why was Snooze discontinued?
According to Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg, the reason behind discontinuing Snooze was that it caused users to miss important updates from their friends and family. He also said that people were using Snooze more as a way to sleep longer than necessary. Ultimately, Zuckerberg decided that removing Snooze would make Facebook more useful and relevant for its users.
Facebook’s new policy on snoozing
Facebook has recently changed its policy on snoozing posts. Previously, users could “snooze” a post for up to 24 hours, which would automatically remove it from their News Feed and give them the option to reschedule it for later. However, as of July 16th, 2016, users are no longer able to snooze posts. Instead, they will only be able to see posts that have been posted within the past 24 hours. This change is likely in response to complaints from users who found it difficult to avoid seeing recent posts altogether.
The backlash on Facebook
Since Facebook announced its latest update to the social media platform, users have been protesting against what they believe is an abandonment of their favorite feature. In the update, which was released on September 6, users were given the option to “snooze” posts for up to four days. However, many users feel that this is a step back from previous versions of Facebook where posts could be ignored altogether.
The outcry on social media began shortly after the update was made available. Many users took to Twitter and Facebook to express their discontent with the new feature. Some argued that it made posts less relevant and prevented them from seeing important updates from friends. Others claimed that it created a cluttered Facebook feed where posts from friends were no longer prioritized.
While some users are unhappy with the change, others argue that it’s unnecessary and complicated. Regardless of people’s opinions on the snoozing feature, it’s clear that there is a significant backlash against Facebook’s recent changes.
How Facebook Got Rid of Snooze
In January 2017, Facebook announced that it would be getting rid of the snooze button for days on its Facebook page. Users no longer could skip ahead several hours by clicking the snooze button. Instead, users were only able to snooze for a set amount of time, usually 30 minutes. This change was made to make people more active on Facebook and less tempted to just let notifications slide.
Some people love this change because it forces them to be more active on their Facebook page. Others argue that the lack of a snooze button makes it difficult to manage notifications. For example, if you have work emails and social media notifications coming in constantly, it can be hard to keep track of what is important and what should wait until later.
Overall, this change seems to have been successful in making Facebook more active and moving away from its former lazy attitude toward social media obligations.
What Happened When People Used Snooze
Snoozing on Facebook used to be a time-honored tradition. Users would hit the “snooze” button until a later time, to get more sleep. However, recently this has changed. Snoozing has become less desirable because it seems like people are just snoozing all the time and not taking action.
In fact, according to a study by Buzzfeed, 41% of people only use the snooze button for procrastination and 28% of people only use it because they don’t want to see what their friends are up to. This is bad for two reasons: first, it’s wasting everyone’s time and second, it’s making interactions with friends less meaningful.
If you’re snoozing on Facebook and need help kicking the habit, here are 5 tips: 1) Set specific goals for when you want to wake up 2) Create a sleep schedule 3) Use timers 4) Celebrate your accomplishments when you wake up 5) Make sure your bed is comfortable